Photos Transferred to Wood

I’ve seen this project posted on Pinterest and this week decided that I wanted to try it. I have friends who were married a year and a half ago, and I wasn’t able to buy them a proper wedding gift at the time, so I thought this would be an awesome (although belated) gift.

Photos transferred to wood.

For this you need a photo copied onto paper using a LASER PRINTER, (Ink jet printer will not work) a piece of wood, Mod Podge, metal ruler…and that’s about it! This project must sit overnight, so be warned that you will not tackle this in one afternoon sitting.

20170502_165915

Cut your photocopied picture to fit onto your piece of wood, and keep in mind the image will be reversed. If there are words or writing on the photograph it will be backwards. (You can find online programs that can reverse the image before you photocopy if necessary). Once your image is cut to size, paint on a thick coat of Mod Podge onto your wood piece. (I’ve also seen posts where Mod Podge was painted onto the photo instead, but I chose to paint the wood. Once you have a nice thick coat of Mod Podge lay your image face down onto the wood and rub out any air bubbles IMMEDIATELY. I was anxious and in a rush, so next time I will lay the picture down more slowly watching for wrinkles and air bubbles along the way.  Once the photo was completely down I used a metal ruler to smooth it out. Mod Podge dries fairly quickly, so DON’T DILLY DALLY! Prep and plan ahead!

Once your image is secured to the wood, let dry overnight. The magic happens in the morning!

Tick tick tick…DING!!!!!

Now let’s take a look at how well your image transferred onto the wood. Are you ready?????

Place a very damp towel on top of the paper that is adhered to the wood. After 5 or 10 minutes the paper will be saturated and soft; you can then use the same damp towel to start rubbing the paper away from the surface. This is actually the tricky part. You need to rub hard enough for the paper to be removed, but not so hard that the image is also removed. For the most part, your image should stay intact, but I found spots where my Mod Podge was either too lumpy, or there might have been an air bubble and parts of the image pulled away. I highly recommend practicing a few times to get your technique down.

After I got most of the paper rubbed off I found that I had to continue to rub the image with my finger to rub off residual paper. As mentioned, my entire image did not adhere to the wood in spots, so I will continue to practice my technique until I have it down. I have a feeling my Mod Podge was a little lumpy because it was the bottom of the bottle, so next time I will use a fresh batch. However, it wasn’t a TOTAL loss…I gave each piece a top coat of Mod Podge to seal the image, and this is how it turned out.

This was absolutely a practice run, in the next few weeks I plan to finish this project with 4 photos on larger/thicker blocks of wood, with some dark stain, and stenciled lettering that spells out “L-O-V-E”. It’ll be adorable! I hope they love it!

~Jane out

 

Leave a Reply

