Last Day of my 40’s

Today is the last day of my 40’s. I am very reflective today.

My Mom always told me the best time of her life was in her 40’s…mine were pretty good I guess, eventful. I accomplished many goals this past decade, and I have made the most wonderful friends anyone could ask for. My children have grown to be wonderful young men. I am so happy with my health, my relationships, and the 2 dogs that apparently the Universe decided I needed.

G June 30, 2016

So, 50…here I come.

I no longer have “career” goals, my mindset has shifted as I segue into this adventurous part of my life. This decade will be focused on how to set my husband and I up for our retirement years. It will not be easy, since we are barely scraping by financially right now. Our assets are: our home, our health, our friends, and our jobs. Whatever we can do to keep those 4 things strong, we will do it. At some point, in the next year or two, we will hit our stride and be able to save money and sock it away instead of constantly trying to figure out ways to keep our shit together. Its just a tough time right now.

My heart is content. I am at peace with who I am, and I’m proud of me. I’ve done a lot in my life, and I’ve overcome some pretty terrible shit. I rock. God made me perfect. Circumstances are nothing but that. No matter what happens in life, what goodies I accumulate or don’t have…I’m still me. I still have that little gold nugget inside of me that sets me aside from everyone else.

I’m not bragging. YOU have it too. We all do.

Happy 50 Jane. Peace.

Leave a Reply

