$87 Feeds a Family of 4 for a Week

I’m pretty stoked about today’s adventures, and its only noon! I’ve become pretty crafty about planning my weekly food budget, but today’s shopping spree was a total score! I easily bought enough food to feed my family (including 2 big dogs) for a week and only spent $87!!!

Food 1

The only “junk food” I bought was soda and chips…and truthfully the soda will last us until Christmas. I’m proud to say the bulk of this shopping event was MEAT. I easily bought 15 lbs of meat, which will cover dinners for a week. This includes: chicken (both white and dark meat), Italian sausages, & shrimp. I also picked up 3 blocks of cheese, lunch meat, dog food, corn on the cob, avocados, and a cantaloupe.

Holidays are a great time to get fantastic deals on groceries. This weekend is Mother’s Day and the Albertson’s right down the street from my house was offering some pretty cool discounts if you shopped on the weekend (which I don’t normally do). They had a $10 off coupon if you spent $75. So I hopped out of bed early, threw on my yoga pants and hightailed it down there with cup of coffee in hand. The sausages were on sale for $3.99, which is pretty good (eh)…but each package had a”manager’s special” coupon attached for an additional $2 off! That made them $1.99 apiece! So I grabbed up 5 of those bad boys! The lunch meat also had the $2 off coupon.

I plan to ‘scope about how to save money on groceries at some point in the near future. You can follow my Periscope account at @Janesreallife, I’ll be live streaming about this and other life hacks and inspirational stories! You can also donate to my Patreon account and receive personalized emails from me, I’d love to get to know about your real life! https://www.patreon.com/JanesRealLife

~ Jane


Leave a Reply

